Unlimited eSIMs: which plans are really unlimited?

19 providers checked: daily limits, reduced speeds and the fair-use rules behind Unlimited data.

eSIM Jungle editorial team ·

Jump to the provider comparison

Is any travel eSIM truly unlimited?

Unlimited data does not automatically mean unlimited high-speed data. Among the offers we reviewed, we could not establish a provider-wide promise of unrestricted high-speed use for every destination and package. Many plans keep you online after a daily or monthly allowance, but at a substantially lower speed. Other providers leave the threshold to their network partners.

That does not prove that every individual plan is throttled. It means that the Unlimited label alone is not enough to judge a plan. For a useful comparison, you need four things: the high-speed allowance, the speed afterwards, the reset time and the hotspot rules.

Our starting point was Airalo: the official default policy reduces speed to 1 Mbps after more than 3 GB within 24 hours. The allowance resets every 24 hours from activation, rather than necessarily at midnight. Individual package terms can differ.

Three different meanings of Unlimited

Unlimited volume with a daily high-speed quota: you can keep transferring data, but only the first few gigabytes in each daily window are fast. Unused high-speed data normally cannot be treated as a freely available allowance for another day unless the package explicitly permits this.

Unlimited volume with a cycle allowance: the high-speed budget covers the whole package or billing cycle. If you use it early, the reduced speed can apply for the remainder of that cycle. Ubigi’s Europe monthly example belongs here.

Unlimited with network-managed fair use: no universal threshold is published, but local operators can still reduce speed. Missing figures make the product harder to plan around; they are not evidence of unlimited full-speed access.

Unlimited eSIMs: the provider comparison

Reviewed on . Examples are identified as such. The exact destination, package and product generation matter. Mbps means megabits per second; 1 Mbps = 1,000 kbps.

High-speed allowances and speed reductions by provider
ProviderHigh-speed allowanceReduced speedReset
AiraloUsually 3 GB / 24 h1 MbpsEvery 24 h from activation
Saily5 GB / 24 h1 MbpsEvery 24 h
NomadMost plans: 2 GB / dayAround 1 or 2 Mbps, depending on planEvery 24 h from activation
UbigiPlan-dependent; Europe monthly example: 60 GBEurope example: 2 MbpsNext plan cycle; not a daily allowance
GigSky3.5 GB / dayMay be reduced; no fixed rate published in FAQEvery 24 h from activation
Roamless3 GB / day1 MbpsEvery 24 h from first data use
FirstyCurrent Unlimited: 5 GB / 24 h512 kbpsEvery 24 h; top-up option
YesimNetwork-dependent; no universal GB thresholdNetwork-dependent; not specified universallyDaily or monthly, depending on network
HolaflyLocal network FUP; threshold not generally specifiedNot generally specifiedTemporary reduction, up to one day
Maya MobileCurrent Global plans: daily quota, amount not stated in legal termsStandard speed after daily quotaEvery 24 h
RoamifyGeneral help: around 2–3 GB / day; actual plan may differHelp example: around 5 MbpsDaily / temporary; confirm package terms
MobiMatterDepends on underlying provider; EUconnect example: 3 GB / dayEUconnect example: 1 Mbps; initial cap 20 MbpsExample: daily
StellarChosen daily allowance; example: 10 GB / dayReduced fair-use speed; value not specifiedDaily
eSIM HeroProvider catalogue example: 2 GB / dayExample: 1 MbpsDaily for the reviewed daily package
abesteSIMSelected package / daily allowanceUSA product example: 128 kbpsDepends on package; daily tiers reset daily
ToriSIMSelected daily quotaCatalogue examples: 384 or 512 kbpsDaily for daily packages
PikaSimSelected daily high-speed quotaAround 128 kbpsEvery 24 h from first activation
BNESIMNo clear universal data thresholdSpeed limits possible for heavy usageNot generally specified
Textr eSIMNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified

What the small print actually says

Airalo

Default rule; individual package terms take precedence.

Sources: Unlimited fair-use policy

Saily

Country and regional Unlimited plans. Ultra Premium instead has a 30 GB monthly high-speed allowance.

Sources: Unlimited plans

Nomad

The current help page describes most Unlimited plans. Older Day Plans and certain packages have different allowances and 512 kbps; check the actual offer.

Sources: Unlimited plans help · Package-specific example

Ubigi

Allowances differ by destination and duration. A monthly allowance must last the entire cycle; the 60 GB example is not a provider-wide rule.

Sources: Europe Unlimited plan · Unlimited FAQ

GigSky

The September 2026 FAQ gives 3.5 GB. Older pages mentioning 2.5 GB should not be used as the current default.

Sources: Unlimited data FAQ

Roamless

Applies to Unlimited, launched in October 2026; fixed packages and pay-as-you-go credit are separate products.

Sources: Unlimited data plans · Launch announcement

Firsty

This is the current monthly Unlimited product, not Firsty Free. Older Comfort+ and First Class packages have their own allowances.

Sources: Monthly plans

Yesim

Yesim says it applies no FUP of its own, but partner networks can slow usage. This is not a guarantee of unlimited high-speed data.

Sources: Unlimited data policy

Holafly

Local operators may reduce speed after heavy use. Hotspot allowances vary by destination and are not necessarily unlimited.

Sources: Unlimited eSIM FAQ

Maya Mobile

Current Global / Global + Cruise terms do not quantify the allowance. Older help pages describe Standard 3 GB / Max 5 GB and 1 Mbps, while another describes staged throttling. These cannot be assumed for every current plan.

Sources: Current plan terms · Older product generations · Unlimited guidelines

Roamify

The China help page describes temporary reductions. The catalogue also contains other thresholds. Neither the threshold nor a 5 Mbps minimum is guaranteed for every destination.

Sources: Unlimited help · China-specific policy

MobiMatter

Marketplace with different products. The Airalo EUconnect 3-day offer is an example, not a rule for every MobiMatter Unlimited plan.

Sources: EUconnect 3-day offer · Terms

Stellar

Daily Unlimited products continue at reduced speed after the selected daily quota. Other tiers differ; fixed-data packages are separate.

Sources: 10 GB/day product example

eSIM Hero

The supplied Singapore Unlimited catalogue entry states 2 GB/day then 1 Mbps. This is package-specific feed evidence, not a publicly documented universal threshold. Confirm the destination offer.

Sources: Provider help (no universal threshold)

abesteSIM

The USA product page states reduced speed of 128 kbps. It offers several daily tiers and Unlimited variants; do not infer one trigger for all variants or destinations.

Sources: USA product details

ToriSIM

Provider feed: Singapore 1 GB/day then 384 kbps; USA 1 GB/day then 512 kbps. These are individual offers. No universal speed is established by the public help page.

Sources: Provider help · Public provider catalogue

PikaSim

Daily Unlimited plans keep a reduced-speed connection after the selected allowance. Hotspot use shares the same quota.

Sources: Unlimited plans explained

BNESIM

The FUP restricts resource-intensive use, including IPTV and continuous downloads or streaming. Numeric limits appearing in the calls section cannot safely be treated as a universal travel-data allowance.

Sources: Fair-use policy

Textr eSIM

Official China Unlimited documentation confirms the product, but the reviewed public material does not establish a high-speed threshold or reduced rate. Obtain the exact package terms before purchase.

Sources: China Unlimited documentation

What can you still do at 1 Mbps?

A connection capped at 1 Mbps is still useful for text messages, light browsing and small transfers when the network responds well. Large downloads, cloud backups and video are much more constrained. At 128 or 512 kbps, even image-heavy websites can take noticeably longer. These are practical expectations, not guaranteed performance tests.

The scale is easier to see with a download: 1 GB takes at least about 2 hours 13 minutes at a constant 1 Mbps, or about 17 hours 22 minutes at 128 kbps. This theoretical calculation uses decimal units and excludes overhead, interruptions and congestion. Actual downloads take longer.

How to choose a plan that fits your trip

  1. Check the exact destination and package, not just the provider’s general advertising. Screenshot or save the conditions shown before purchase.
  2. Compare high-speed data per day with your busiest day. A daily 3 GB quota is not the same as a flexible 21 GB allowance for a week.
  3. Check the reduced speed and reset clock. Midnight, 24 hours after activation and the next billing cycle are different rules.
  4. Check tethering separately. An unlimited phone allowance does not automatically mean unlimited hotspot data or permission to replace home broadband.
  5. For large transfers or remote work, compare a fixed high-speed package and local operator offers too. A clear allowance can be easier to plan around than an unspecified FUP.

How we researched this comparison

We audited all 23 providers in our catalogue on 17 October 2026, including inactive and draft providers. Nineteen have documented Unlimited offers or daily packages with continued reduced-speed access. Inclusion in this article does not mean every offer is currently available in our comparison. Roamless, for example, announced Unlimited shortly before this review.

The evidence comes from official product pages, help centres, terms and provider-supplied catalogues. Catalogue-only findings are labelled explicitly. We do not turn a country example into a universal provider rule, and we do not treat missing information as a promise of no throttling. Conflicting product generations, such as Maya’s, remain identified rather than combined into a made-up limit.

For GoMoWorld, GlobaleSIM and Roamix, we did not establish a concrete current Unlimited travel-data offer with verifiable terms. Instabridge’s reviewed travel catalogue contains fixed-data packages; unlimited calling in a domestic mobile product is a different claim. These four therefore do not appear in the policy table. Firsty Free is also excluded from the Unlimited classification.

This is a review of published conditions, not a network speed test. Fair-use terms can change, and the conditions for your selected package at checkout take precedence. Our comparison may contain affiliate links; that does not change the limits recorded here.

Our assessment

Choose Unlimited for continued connectivity, not simply for the word on the label. Transparent limits make a plan easier to assess. If you need sustained high-speed data, only a package that explicitly documents the relevant allowance, hotspot rules and any restrictions can answer that need. None of the provider-wide claims reviewed here is sufficient on its own.